Friday, March 25, 2011

Wine, for the classy folks

Wine, the new hot commodity. I was recently reading an article about how the younger generation is now embracing the wine culture, making wine into the more fabulous lifestyle.  And yes, I would like to say I contribute to the wine culture.  People join clubs to go wine tasting, and want to be come wine guru. Heck, I'm working towards that (still have a lonnnnggggg ways to go).  I was recently reading an article about is this prestigious wine program to be certified as basically a wine connoisseur and being so wine knowledgeable, though this includes lots of studying and exams.   Growing up in an (american) Italian family, having wine in the house was normal, and it's not normal if there is no wine in the house. This past summer I ventured to Italy - the great wine country - and let me say, wine flows more frequently than water over there, and not to mention in restaurants a glass of wine is cheaper than a bottle of water.  I visited 3 different vineyards for tastings, which by each one the wine got better and better. I learned soooo much about the art of wine tasting, and how to properly taste wine.  What I thought was extremely cool was seeing how wine is made, stored, and served. Huge oak barrels fill basements of wineries which wine will set in for about a year - all depending on the wine.  Prime grape season is September, so I was not able to eat any fresh grapes, or do any grape stomping like that one I Love Lucy episode. 

I simply just love the art of wine. This even including wine glasses.  I'm currently into the larger bowls or the no-stem glasses.

Side note: something I know absolutely nothing about, beer. I recently went beer tasting - which I found that I enjoy the darker more robust beers. Anyways, this is just another topic that I want to learn more about, I barely even know how beer is brewed. Guess I'll start doing some research.


There's nothing classier than a great glass of red wine.

No comments:

Post a Comment