Who decided that people should start drinking drinks out of long plastic tubes of all sizes? Honestly.. who? Okay, so I know ... it was Marvin Stone in 1888 (thank you about.com) But why did he just decide one day to put a piece of plastic in a cup to make drinking easier? Don't get me wrong, I love straws. I've got my favorites.. like the straws in slurpies with the little spoon at the bottom, or the small stirring straws for coffee or cocktails, or just bendy straws. Or when you're out to eat and half the straw wrapper is still attached and you spit it at the person across the table, and they for some odd reason freak out... but in reality it's only a piece of paper - nothing too deadly. My next question is - why the bendy straw? Is it so you don't have to tilt your head forward to get to the straw? I was out to eat the other day and got extremely excited because I remembered the restaurant had bendy straws. It's all about the cup and straw proportion.
Anyways, why do people invent these things and become so successful. It's quite impressive. Why did someone decided it should be the norm that we should wear triangle/pointy hats on birthdays? Just a thought.
Yeah, I just blogged about straws.
I should use straws more often. I think if you drink soda through a straw it is better for your teeth, because the soda passes your teeth. Maybe that's not true though, my mom used to say it.
ReplyDelete